top of page
Draax extras.png

Can't get enough of the green-skinned, stubborn but oh-so-sweet aliens?

Check below for some "extras" on the world of Draax!

latest idalia solar system.png
draax world.png

The planet Draax is a planet in the Idalia solar system with twelve other planets.  Two moons orbit the planet and Draax itself orbits the star Keo in a wide, elliptic orbit.  Draax is slightly smaller than Earth in size, but like Earth supports carbon-based life forms. 

Similar to Earth, a single day lasts 24 hours.  There are twelve months in a year, but there are 32 days in each month.  A year lasts 384 days.  Much like Earth, most of the Draax planet has four seasons but their summers are milder and their winters much colder than Earth. 

The planet is made up of eight continents.  The books take place on the continent known as Odias.  Odias is separated into four distinct provinces – east, west, north and south.  Each province is ruled by a monarchy.  The provinces live in harmony for the most part, although wars have broken out between the western and eastern provinces, and the eastern and northern provinces in the past.


Plant life is lush and abundant despite the cold winters.  The planet is known most widely for the gallberry plant.  This plant only grows on Draax and the liquid extracted from the plant heals all known illnesses. 

Animal life is plentiful, including mammals, insects, reptiles, amphibians and fish. 

Due to an inability to grow the gallberry plant outside of the Draax planet, many other races have attempted to invade and conquer the Draax planet to acquire control of the trade and sale of gallberry juice.  As a result, the Draax have evolved into a warrior race.  Their military is vast and well-funded with most Draax males enlisting for at least one term of service in the military before pursuing other careers. 

Draax currency is similar to Earth, although many of the smaller towns and villages will accept trade rather than currency. 

The Draax have trading agreements with two other planets within their solar system – the Vokine planet and the Scuun planet.  They trade the gallberry plant with the Vokine in exchange for the Vokine’s advanced technology, and trade with the Scuun in exchange for radioactive isotopes used to power their spacecrafts.

The Draax population consists mainly of males.  The ratio of males born to females has always been disproportionately high.  However, nearly forty Earth years ago, the rate of females born dropped to zero.  To avoid the extinction of their race, the Draax searched for compatible races.  Discovering that 70% of Earth females carried the necessary gene to become pregnant with a Draax baby, led the Draax to propose a trade/breeding agreement with Earth. 

Odias Continent and Earth Security

The Odias Continent is responsible for providing North America with security against alien invasion and a steady juice supply.  The American states and Canadian provinces are divided among the Odias provinces.  Each of the provinces in Odias are assigned twelve American states and three Canadian provinces with the exception of the western province.  Because the western province has the largest and most skilled military in Odias, they were given thirteen American states and four provinces.  The Odias province signs an individual Planetary Treaty with each state and province it is assigned.

The breakdown is as follows:

Western province ruled by Quillan

American States:  California, Arizona, New Mexico, Texas, Nevada, Utah, Colorado, Kansas, Missouri, Iowa, Nebraska, Wyoming, and Oklahoma.

Canadian Provinces:  British Columbia, Alberta, Yukon, and Northwest Territories.

Eastern province ruled by Eastolf

American States:  Oregon, Washington, Idaho, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Minnesota, Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Wisconsin, and Illinois.

Canadian Provinces:  Saskatchewan, Manitoba, and Nunavut.

Northern province ruled by Raynor

American States:  Alabama, Tennessee, Georgia, Florida, South Carolina, North Carolina, Virginia, West Virigina, Kentucky, Indiana, Michigan, Alaska, and Hawaii.

Canadian Provinces:  Ontario, Quebec, and Newfoundland.

Southern province ruled by Cignek

American States:  New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Maine, New York, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New Jersey, Delaware, Maryland, Washington DC, Ohio, and Pennsylvania.

Canadian Provinces:  Prince Edward Island, Nova Scotia, and New Brunswick.

Not sure what some of the Draax words mean?  Curious to know the story behind the word "Krono"?  And just what the heck is a deocatcraft anyway?  Click below for a list of Draax terminology and some added information goodness about the Draax world!

draax terminology.png
bottom of page